Support Center

Setting Up Passwords/Security

Last Updated: Feb 13, 2017 05:02PM UTC
Salon Iris has a very in depth password and security system. It is important to note that passwords need to be created for all members of staff in the software. You should also note that you do not have to password every section of the software, just the sections you want to protect or obscure from other users.
If you lock yourself out of your system​,
the password recovery fee is £99 (ex VAT). 


Password recovery is FREE to all
Support Plan & Subscription customers.


 
To set up Passwords in Salon Iris;​
 
  • Select Passwords from the icons at the top of Salon Iris (or press Ctrl and P)​.


 
  • Tick the box to Enable employee password protection on this computer and then click Edit Passwords.
  • ​In the Employee Passwords screen, you MUST assign passwords for all employees. If you are only interested in locking everyone but yourself out of sections of the software (i.e. Business owners may want to stop staff view reports but nothing else) then you can set everyone a generic password and not tell them. Just make sure yours is different and memorable. You can decide if you want to keep the passwords hidden or not in this box (if editing with other staff around), along with giving people the ability to set their own passwords if you are assigning each member of staff with their own unique password. Once passwords are assigned, press OK.

 
IN THE EXAMPLE BELOW, WALTER IS THE BUSINESS OWNER AND EVERYBODY ELSE AN EMPLOYEE AT THE BUSINESS. WALTER'S PASSWORD IS UNIQUE, WHILST THE REST OF THE STAFF HAVE A GENERIC PASSWORD THAT WALTER WILL NOT TELL THEM.

 

 
  • Now press Edit Access to set up who can access various sections of the software.



 
  • This next screen is broken down into two sections. General & ReportsGeneral is for deciding who access certain functions of Salon Iris. Reports is for deciding who can view various reports in Salon Iris.
  • General is broken down into various 'trees'. Click the + symbol to see the various 'branches' of these trees.
  • When you look at the 'branches',  you will see the various 'Items'. These Items are the functions in Salon Iris. Here, you must decide whether each item Requires a Password. If this box is ticked, then those who are ticked will be able to access this function by entering their password.
 
IN THE EXAMPLE BELOW, THE THREE CASH DRAWER OPTIONS CAN ONLY BE PERFORMED BY WALTER AND JESSE.

 


 
IN THE EXAMPLE BELOW, THESE DATABASE OPTIONS CAN BE PERFORMED BY EVERYONE, AS THE PASSWORD REQUIRED FIELD IS UNTICKED.



 
It is important to consider various things when passwords are set for certain functions. For example, you normally would not password protect the Appointment Book screen as this can slow down your work considerably. However, you may want to password the ability for a member of staff to be able to edit a ticket. It is very important to take your time and go through all of the options one by one and decide whether you want them to be passworded or not.
 
 
IMPORTANT: MAKE SURE TO PASSWORD THE EMPLOYEE ACCESS SCREEN IN THE 'OTHER' SECTION OF THE GENERAL TAB. THIS WILL PREVENT PEOPLE GOING IN AND CHANGING THEIR OWN SECURITY SETTINGS.​
 
  • Repeat the process for the Reports section, and once finished, press OK.
  • Under Password Log In/Log Out Settings, you can select from two options;
  1. Do not remember which employee is logged in - This option means that once a password has been entered and allows access, the software does not record who is logged in to that section. It also means that when jumping between multiple passworded sections, you will need to enter a password every time.
  2. Remember which employee is logged in - This means that once an employee is logged in, they will have access to all areas that they allowed to access (as set up in the Access section). This means you do not have to keep entering a password when jumping between screens provided that the employee has access. This option also records who is logged in and performing actions in various sections of the software.


 
PLEASE NOTE: IF YOU SELECT TO KEEP EMPLOYEES LOGGED IN, THEN THE EMPLOYEE WILL NEED TO LOG OUT OF THE SOFTWARE ONCE THEY HAVE FINISHED USING IT.
 
  • Automatic Log Out is an option for people who have the Remember which employee is logged in option selected. If you tick the box for Enable automatic logout then Salon Iris will log out the employee who is logged in after the amount of time specified. We recommend that the logout time be set to no more than two minutes.

 
PLEASE NOTE: If Automatic Log Out is not selected, then if someone forgets to log out of Salon Iris, then any body using the system after that person would have full access to that employees security set up. Any actions being recorded will be under that employees name, which can make tracking theft and/or security breaches difficult. ​
 
  • When an employee tries to access a section that requires a password, they will be greeted with the Employee Password Required screen.
 


 
  • When a password is entered correctly and if that employee has the required access to the section that they are trying to use, then it will go straight to that section as normal. If they don't have access then they will receive a message saying that they do not have the required access to use that function.

 
​​
 
  • There are two ways to log out of Salon Iris;
  1. ​Press Ctrl and X.
  2. Go to Tools drop down menu and select Password Log Out.

 
  • Once you're logged out, there will be a message displayed accordingly.

Contact Us

  • Email Us
  • Call us on 0121 314 4402 (option 2) to speak to a member of our support team or email us at support@saloniris.co.uk (Support plan & Subscription customers only)
https://cdn.desk.com/
false
desk
Loading
seconds ago
a minute ago
minutes ago
an hour ago
hours ago
a day ago
days ago
about
false
Invalid characters found
/customer/en/portal/articles/autocomplete